24 AUGUST 1850, Page 9

The Standard states that it has been determined to create

three new bishoprics—for the island of Mauritius, Western Australia, and Sierra „Leone ; and that the first incumbents will probably be the Reverend _Ernest Hawkins, of Exeter College, Oxford, the Reverend James Harris, of Stepney, and the Reverend T. W. Weeks, of St. Thomas's, Lambeth.